The main objective of A Partial Survey of Centres Writing Caroline Minuscule, c. 700–1000 is to provide summary articles on the major scribal centres and regions that used Caroline minuscule in Europe c. 700–1000 AD. Each article contains a detailed introduction and bibliography relating to the letter-forms and identified manuscripts of each centre, together with a list of these manuscripts (hyperlinked to digital editions where available). All articles have been edited and peer-reviewed.

If you would be interested in writing an article, please contact us. Authors receive a fee of €50 per article. The below centres are still available:

1.      Autun + Flavigny
2.      Benediktbeuern + Mondsee
3.      Charlemagne’s court groups
4.      Corbie + Corvey
5.     Laon + Arras + Cambrai
6.     Lucca
7.     Lyon + Vienne
8.     Murbach + Weissenburg
9.     Reichenau + Konstanz
10.     Rheims: Notre Dame + St Remi + St Thierry + Hautvillers
11.     Paris: St Denis + St-Germain-des-Prés
12.    Tours

The funding for this project has been generously provided by APICES.

Scribal Centres:

Click on a scribal centre below to view the abstract, PDF edition, manuscript list, author biography and citation guidelines. In order to view the PDF editions, you will need a PDF reader such as Adobe Acrobat Reader, which is freely available online.